Akon’s talents in music eventually led to a friendship and mentorship with Devyne Stephens of Upfront Megatainment. Stephens signed Akon to his production company and arranged for him to begin recording his music, which eventually garnered the interest of SRC Records at Universal. Additional collaborations with a variety of rappers and other artists helped to increase his exposure, and Trouble, Akon’s solo debut, was released in 2004. Featuring the hit singles “Lonely,” “Pot of Gold,” “Locked Up,” “Ghetto,” and Belly Dancer,” the album rocketed to the top of the charts and firmly established Akon as a music powerhouse.

Konvicted and Freedom followed in 2006 and 2008, and Akon embarked on a series of successful concert performances, including the Konvicted Tour in 2007 and 2008, the Sweet Escape Tour alongside Gwen Stefani in 2007, the Good Girl Gone Band Tour with Rihanna in 2008, and the OMG Tour with Usher in 2011. Quickly gaining a reputation as a solid performer and outstanding musician with whom to collaborate, Akon also began working with other musicians in a variety of capacities. He contributed to Gwen Stefani’s album, The Sweet Escape, collaborated with Chamillionaire on Mixtape Messiah 2, produced Soul Survivor for Young Jeezy, appeared on Strength and Loyalty with Bone Thugs’n’Harmony, produced Not 4 Sale for Kardinal Offishall, co-produced “Mirrors” for Natalia Kills, and co-wrote “Put It on My Tab” for the New Kids on the Block and “Just Dance” for Lady Gaga. He also contributed to Whitney Houston’s 2009 album, I Look To You, recorded “Wake it UP” with E-40 for the album, The Ball Street Journal, and collaborated with Aventura, Reggaeton, Wonder Girls, and Pitbull for a variety of music project. Akon has also fostered up and coming artists by establishing his own record label, Kon Live Distribution, signing such notable performers as Jeffree Star.

Akon also recently competed on Big Brother Celebrity Edition 2, and launched Konvict Clothing, his own line. His enormous marketing power has brought him a staggering level of financial success, ranking him in the top 100 on the Forbes list for 2010, and his critical accolades include numerous Grammy nominations, four triple platinum singles, and three double platinum singles. Most recently, Akon has released Stadium (2013), and launched development on a reality series, “My Brother’s Keeper,” and the film Illegal Alien.

Akon Song List

  • “Don’t Matter”
  • “I Wanna Love You”
  • “Smack That”
  • “Lonely”

Facebook Iconfacebook like buttonTwitter Icontwitter follow buttonInstagram